Summer capsule update

Belgium is famous for summers that are virtually indistinguishable from early October in the rest of Europe. Then, sometimes you have a perfect warm day and you eat ice cream in a green park and all is forgiven. Due to the weather, I could go quite long with my end-of-winter/spring capsule wardrobe.

But I am really proud I took today off work to have a day to recharge, relax, reflect and eat many biscuits, and finally got round to switching wardrobes!

IMG_20160620_125353
Jackie O’ is shocked at my inability to fold things properly

Here is what it looks like:

It is not 33 new pieces

About 10 of the previous wardrobe made it into this one as well. A bit surprising given how many clothes I still have in the drawer under our bed. I am not as bored with my clothes as I thought I could be, hooray!

Welcome to #neutralland

I love a good print or pattern, but wearing 1xweek a button-up with a print of overlapping galloping horses taught me where my limits lie. Stripes, dots and leopard are neutrals- other than these I can maybe risk one more garish item. I do have 5 white shirts in this capsule as well. Not exciting, but I have learned in the past 3 months that exciting is a bit overrated when it comes to dressing.

Cheat items are allowed

Having a capsule wardrobe and not shopping are not meant to be strict rules that ruin your life, just a little helping towards more energy for the meaningful stuff. So, if I need an elegant dress for one of the six weddings I am attending this year, I’ll not sweat it and just wear it, no need to swap it out. Same for shorts in the unlikely scenario that we have a day that is a) a weekend b) too hot to wear pants. Same even for clothes needed for holidays in countries in a very different climate.

20160620_130159
This section of our wardrobe used to be crammed to the brim with 1/3 of my clothes. Now it comfortably houses my capsule (except pants), the few cheat items, my wedding dress, and J’s shirts and suit. Also, yay for color-coding the clothes!

Take a risk

My first purchase after the 3-months shopping ban was a thrifted pair of hot pink office-appropriate crop trousers. Would I normally ever wear something so bright on my beautifully pear-shaped lower half? Nope. But I thought “F*** it, these pants are awesome, they are 7€, they are coming with me”.  And I love them and apparently the world does not collapse if I wear something not “conventionally flattering”.

Do you have a capsule wardrobe? How do you construct each capsule?

 

 

One thought on “Summer capsule update

Leave a Reply

